At 6 AM

When I wake up and it's not quite 6 AM yet - oh, what, joy!

When I wake up and it’s not quite 6 AM yet – oh, what, joy!

Alarm Clock belts out Taylor Swift’s The Best Day

Bringing me out of the depths of slumber;

Cares come crashing over

Dreams, sweet dreams now forgotten;

Ephesians 6:7

Forces its way into my brain-

God is my master!

Hope battles with anxieties and care,

I almost let the latter win, but

Joy should not be a function of

K’s of transfer functions solved, or of

Laplace Transforms inversed;

My mind swims: What to do first?

Not looking forward to a plant design session,

Or another thesis consultation,

Process control problems await,

Quiet time notebook abandoned as of late,

Reminders for org tasks litter my planner;

Stop it, cerebral nerves!

To rest is a bodily must

Unless I want to combust;

Very quickly, these thoughts pass-

Wait, what? What’s happening now?

X’s and Y’s slide down a rainbow

Yikes, I must have returned to-

Zzzzz . . .

*The above is a response to Daily Prompt: A to Z.  

One thought on “At 6 AM

  1. Pingback: Orderly William Butler Yeats | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

Leave a Reply

