I Learned Something Important from Lecture Today

Image

I came across a line I wrote on my Introduction to Environmental Engineering notebook earlier. Scrawled across a page is this line:

 Nature is perfect and it has its own way of purging itself from impurities. It is only when man interferes that it becomes imperfect.

I remember scrawling it across a fresh page because it jolted me out of boredom. It was like a sudden strike of lightning on a rainy day. Out of the blue, I heard it as a metaphor to sin, the impurities of my soul.

You see, I have a tendency to run away from sin. I fall into temptation once, I confess, then I go on my way. I fall into temptation yet again, then I try to forget I ever did so because I sometimes think confessing the same sin to God for the nth time must tire Him out because it does me. I get tired of saying sorry to God for the same sins. I get frustrated by my lack of growth.  Then I get exhausted from running away. But God? He truly does work in unexpected ways.

I never expected to hear God’s voice in the middle of a discussion on pollution. But that was what I heard. I heard God’s reminders through my professor, of all people, that all my sins are forgiven. That He has planned a perfect way to sanctify me and that plan is in motion. That running away is a response formulated by my imperfect self. That if I only confess my sin, He is faithful and just to forgive and cleanse me from all wickedness. (1 John 1:9) He tells me that there is no nth time, only a fresh first time with Him. It is a lesson He continues to teach me.  I am slow to learn, apparently, but thank God for His patience. He will never get tired of forgiving me and of reminding me that forgiveness is by His grace alone. He even uses my classes- my usual excuse for skipping my quiet time- to call me back to His welcoming arms.

That morning, my professor dismissed us early. It was a good thing he did because I would have had trouble listening to the rest of his lecture. Running in my head was the verse

“Come now, let us reason together, says the LORD: though your sins are like scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they are red like crimson, they shall become like wool.”-Isaiah 1:18, ESV

I learned enough for the day.

Leave a Reply

